Blinken announces three Houthi leaders to remain under US sanctions

The US Secretary of State announced that three Houthi leaders would remain under US sanctions despite the removal of the Houthi movement from its terror list on Tuesday.

1 min read

On 12 February, US Secretary of State Antony Blinken announced that three leaders of the Houthi movement would remain under the sanctions of the US. Blinken underlined that Abdul Malik Al-Houthi, Abd Al-Khaliq Badr Al-Din Al-Houthi, and Abdullah Yahya Al-Hakim would remain sanctioned in relation to acts threatening peace, security and stability in Yemen. During this announcement, it must be noted that Blinked referred to the Houthi movement in its formal name, Ansarallah.

In his statement, Blinken added that the US would continue its monitoring of Houthi activities while trying to detect new targets for sanctions, more specifically those responsible for attacking commercial routes in the Red Sea. Additionally, those conducting missiles and drone strikes against Saudi Arabia are also included within this search, Blinken said.

Latest from Blog