Ambassadors of five Arab countries to Morocco visit Western Sahara

The ambassadors of the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Jordan, and Yemen visited Morocco's south region according to an announcement by the official account of the Emirati Embassy in Rabat.

1 min read

On Monday, the ambassadors of five Arab countries to Rabat participated in a group visit to the Sahara region. The news of the visit came in a tweet published by the official account of the UAE Embassy in Morocco.

The Emirati embassy stated that its ambassador, Saeed Al Dhaheri, along with the ambassadors of Saudi Arabia, Oman, Jordan, and Yemen participated in a tour that included the southern provinces of the Kingdom of Morocco.

The same tweet indicated that the visit came at the invitation of the Moroccan Foreign Ministry.

The move represents the support for Morocco in the file of its territorial integrity and sovereignty over the disputed Western Sahara region against the Polisario Front.

Four Arab countries, the UAE, Bahrain, Jordan, and the Comoros, have general consulates in the city of Laayoune, the largest metropolis in the region.

The number of consulates opened by the countries supporting Morocco in the Western Sahara file reached 21, 17 of which are African.

The Polisario disputes Rabat over the Western Sahara region, and the latter insists on its right to the region and proposes expanded autonomy under its sovereignty, while the Polisario demands the organization of a referendum for self-determination, a proposal supported by Algeria, which hosts refugees from the region.

In 1975, a conflict began between Morocco and the Polisario over the Western Sahara region, after the Spanish occupation ended its presence in the region, turning the dispute into an armed conflict that lasted until 1991 with the signing of a ceasefire.

Latest from Blog